Ce que nous enseignons

À propos la Bible

La Bible est la parole infallible de Dieu et l’autorité ultime pour le salut et la vie chrétienne. ( Voir II Timothie 3:15-17.)

( Le mot infallible signifie «incapable d’avoir tort». Si quelquechose est infallible, il n’est jamais faux et ainsi il est entièrement fiable. De la même manière, le mot infallible, qui s’applique également aux Écritures, signifie «exempte d’erreurs». En bref, , la Bible n’échoue jamais.

2 Pierre 1:19 affirme que la Bible est infallible, «Et nous tenons pour d’autant plus certaine la parole prophétique». Pierre continue avec une description de comment les Écritures ont été adoptées.: Sachant tout d’abord vous-mêmes qu’aucune prophétie de l’Écriture ne peut être un objet d’interprétation particulière,  car ce n’est pas par une volonté d’homme qu’une prophétie a jamais été apportée, mais c’est poussés par le Saint Esprit que des hommes ont parlé de la part de Dieu.» (2 Pierre 1:20-21).

De plus,  l’infallibilité est sous-entendue dans 2 Timothie 3:16-17, « toute Écriture est inspirée de Dieu» et a l’effet de produire des servitudes de Dieu qui sont propres à toute bonne oeuvre.» Le fait que Dieu «a inspiré» les Écritures assure que la Bible est infallible, car Dieu ne peut pas faire d’erreur.

Le fait que la Bible équipe «proprement »les servitudes de Dieu  pour l’oeuvre démontre qu’elle nous guide vers la vérité, pas vers l’erreur.

Si Dieu est infallible, alors sa Parole va être également infallible. La doctrine de l’infallibilté des Écritures est basée sur une compréhension de la perfection du caractère de Dieu. La Parole de Dieu «est parfaite, elle restaure l’âme» (Psaume 19:7) car Dieu Lui-même est parfait. Théologiquement, Dieu est Sa Parole; Son image visible, Son corps (Le Seigneur Jésus) est appelé «la parole qui  a été faite chair» (Jean 1:1,14).

Il convient de noter que la doctrine de l’infallibilité concerne uniquement les documents originaux. Les mauvaise traductions, les erreurs d’impression, les coquilles et les ajouts sont évidemment des erreurs humaines qui sont facilement détectées la plupart du temps. Cependant, ce que les ecrivains de la Bible écrivirent au départ était entièrement libre d’erreur et d’oubli, car l’Esprit supervisa leur oeuvre; Dieu est sincère et parfaitement fiable (jean 14:6; 17:3), et il en va de même pour Sa parole (Jean 17:17).

La Bible déclare la perfection complète (plutôt que de la perfection incomplète) dans Psaume 12:6; Psaume 19:7; Proverbes 30:5 et dans plusieurs d’autres endroits. Elle est factuelle et nous juge (et non vice versa), «Car la parole de Dieu est vivante et efficace, plus tranchante qu’une épée quelconque à deux tranchants, pénétrante jusqu’à partager âme et esprit, jointures et moelles; elle juge les sentiments et les pensées du coeur.» Hebreux 4:12.

La Bible est la seule source objectif de tout ce qui Dieu nous a donné à propos de Lui-même et son plan pour l’humanité. En etant la Parole infallible de Dieu, la Bible ne peut se tromper, elle est autoritaire, fiable et suffisante pour remplir nos besoins.

À propos Dieu

Il y a un seul Dieu, qui s’est révélé comme notre Père, dans son Fils Jésus Christ comme notre Rédempteur, et comme le Saint Esprit. Jésus Chrsit est Dieu manifesté dans la chair. Il est l’Esprit Éternel qui a un corps de chair sans péchés. (Voir Deutéronome 6:4; Éphésiens 4:4-6; Colossiens 2:9; 1 Timothie 3:16)

La Bible déclare que le seul Dieu éternel et vivant est: puissance infinie, Saint en nature, et possède déité absolue et indivisible; Cet unique et véritable Dieu s’est révélé comme Père dans la création, comme Fils dans la rédemtion; et comme Saint Esprit dans la régéneration; (1 Cor. 8:6;Éph. 4:6; 2 Cor. 5:19; Joël 2:28).

Les Écritures font plus que tenter de prouver l’existence de Dieu; elles font valoir, affirment et déclarent que la connaissance de Dieu est universelle; (Romains 1:19, 21, 28, 32;2:15). Dieu est invisible, intangible, sans composants, sans corps, et donc libre de toutes limitations. Dieu est Esprit (Jean 4:24), et un esprit n’a ni chair ni os; (Luc 24:39)

 Le premier de tous les commandments est «Écoute, Israël! l’Éternel, notre Dieu, est le seul Éternel» (Marc 12:29; Deut. 6:4). «Un seul Dieu et Père de tous, qui est au-dessus de tous, et parmi tous, et en tous.» (Éph. 4:6).

Ce seul Dieu véritable s’est manifesté dans l’Ancien Testament dans plusieurs façons et dans le Nouveau Testament comme le Fils pendant qu’Il marchait parmi l’homme; comme le Saint Esprit après l’Ascension.

À propos du péché et du salut

Tout le monde a péché et a besoin de salut. Le salut vient à travers la foi basée sur le sacrifice expiatoire de Jésus Christ; (Voir Romains 3:23-25; 6:23; Éphésiens 2:8-9).

L’expérience du salut dans le Nouveau Testament consiste de la foi en Jésus Christ, la repentance des péchés, le baptême d’eau par Immersion dans le Nom de Jésus-Christ pour le pardon des péchés, et le baptême du Saint Esprit, ce qui permet au Chrétien de vivre une vie pieuse (Voir Actes 2:36-41).

 

(Le péché est la transgression de la loi., ou des commandements de Dieu (1 Jean 3:4). La culpabilité du péché est tombée sur toute humanité depuis Adam jusqu’a maintenant (Romains 3:23). Le salaire du péché est la mort éternelle (Romains 6:23; Apocalypes 20:14) à tous ce qui refuse d’accepter le salut comme énoncé dans la Parole de Dieu.

Nous ne pouvons pas couvrir nos péchés en étant assez bien, car notre bonté pue dans les narines de Dieu (Ésaïe 64:6). Le salut est la délivrance de tout péché et impiété à travers le sang de Jésus-Chhrist. Léexpérience du salut dans du Nouveau Testament porte sur la foi en Jésus-Christ, la repentance du péché, le baptême d’eau par Immersion dans le Nom de Jésus-Christ pour le pardon des péchés, et le baptême du Saint Esprit, ce qui permet au Chrétien de vivre une vie pieuse (Actes 2:36-41)

1LA RÉPENTANCE

Le mot grec est metanoeo, ce qui veut dire littéralement «percevoir après» et signifie ainsi changer d’avis ou de mission. Dans le Nouveau Testament, ce mot indique toujours un changement pour le mieux.

  1. Alors, essentiellement, la repentance s’agit d’un changement d’avis, de coeur et de direction.
  2. De nombreuses références affirment ceci. Dieu a choisi Paul comme prédicateur aux paëns «afin que tu leur ouvres les yeux, pour qu’ils passent des ténèbres à la lumière et de la puissance de Satan à Dieu»  (Actes 26:18)
  3.  (Actes 26:20). Une des doctrines fondamentales de l’église est «le renoncement aux oeuvres mortes» (Hebreux 6: 1).
  4. Dans le contexte de la prédication biblique, alors, la repentance est de détourner de ses péchés est de tourner vers Dieu.
  5. Cependant, la plupart des passages utilisent le mot dans un contexte plus restreint pour signifier le premier pas loin du péché et vers Dieu, avant d’être baptisé et d’être rempli du don du Saint Esprit (Actes 2:38).

Dans ce sens, la repentance est une transformation radicale d’esprit, d’attitude, de conviction et de direction. C’est une action volontaire de l’homme à l’appel de Dieu. Elle désigne un virage actif, pas juste un sentiment de regret ou des excuses. Elle est plus d’une résolution ou d’une réformation; il s’agit d’une décision spirituelle et d’un changement spirituel.

  1. Avant que quelqu’un se repentisse de ses péchés, on doit comprendre qu’on est un pécheur. Jésus a dit, «Je ne suis pas venu appeler des justes, mais des pécheurs. (Marc 2:17; Luc 5:32).
  2. On a tous péché, donc Jésus est venu en réalité pour le monde entier. Toutefois, sa déclaration indique qu’Il ne sauvera que ceux qui reconnaissent leurs péchés.
  3. La repentance ne peut être faite lorsque l’homme reconnaît ses péchés et accepte son besoin de Dieu.
2LE BAPTÊME D'EAU

Le baptême d’eau doit être administré par l’immersion. Paul a dit, «Nous avons donc été ensevelis avec lui [Jésus Christ] par le baptême (Romains 6:4; voir Colossiens 2:12), Jésus «sortait de l’eau» (Marc 1:10), et Philippe et l’eunuque descendirent « dans l’eau» et ils «furent sortis de l’eau» (Actes 8:38-39). La mort,  l’ensevelissement, et la résurrection de Jésus sont appliqués à nos vies lorsque nous expérimentons le salut du Nouveau Testament: Repentez-vous [ la mort au péché], et que chacun de vous soit baptisé [l’ensevelissement] au nom de Jésus Christ, pour le pardon de vos péchés; et vous recevrez le don du Saint Esprit [la résurrection]. (Voir Actes 2:38; Romains 6:1-7; 8:2).

3LA FORMULE POUR LE BAPTÊME

La dernière commande de Jésus à Ses disciples était, « Allez, faites de toutes les nations des disciples, les baptisant au nom du Père, du Fils et du Saint Esprit» (Matthieu 28:19). Nous devons remarquer qu’Il a dit nom (singulier) pas noms. Père, Fils et Saint Esprit ne sont pas des noms, mais des titres de postes occupés par Dieu. Une annonce angélique a révélé le nom de salut de Dieu dans le Nouveau Testament: «Elle enfantera un fils, tu lui donneras le nom de JÉSUS; c’est lui qui sauvera son peuple de ses péchés.» (Matthieu 1:21)

Les apôtres comprirent que Jésus était le nom à utiliser lors d’un baptême, et dès le jour de l’établissement de l’église de Dieu (le jour de Pentecôte) jusqu’à la fin de leur ministère, ils baptisaient toutes nations (les Juifs- Actes 8:16; les Gentils- Actes 19:5) au nom du Seigneur Jésus Christ.

En fait, Jésus est le seul nom donné pour notre salut. «Il n’y a de salut en aucun autre; car il n’y a sous le ciel aucun autre nom qui ait été donné parmi les hommes, par lequel nous devions être sauvés.» (Actes 8:12)

4LE BAPTÊME DU SAINT ESPRIT

Il a été prophétisé par Joël (Joël 2:28-29) et Ésaïe (Ésaïe 28:11), prédit par Jean Baptiste (Matthieu 3:11), et promis par Jésus à Ses disciples (Jean 14:26; 15:16). Le Saint Esprit a été versé pour la première fois le jour de la Pentecôte sur les Juifs (Actes 2:1-4), puis sur les Samaritains (Actes 8:17), et plus tard sur les Gentils (Actes 10:44-46; 19:6). «Car la promesse est pour vous, pour vos enfants, et pour tous ceux qui sont au loin, en aussi grand nombre que le Seigneur notre Dieu les appellera» (Actes 2:39)

 

.

5DES LANGUES

Parler en d’autres langues, selon que l’Esprit donne de s’exprimer est la manisfestation que Dieu a donné comme le témoin ou signe précis, incontestable et surnaturel du baptême du Saint Esprit (Actes 2:4; 10:46; 19:6).

Il a été prophétisé par le prophète Ésaïe comme le repos et le lieu de repos (Ésaïe 28:11-12), prédit par Jésus comme un signe qui suivra ceux qui croient l’Évangile (Marc 16:17), et expérimenté aussi bien par les Juifs  que par les Gentils. 

Le don de «divers types de langues», mentionné par Paul dans I Corinthiens 12:1-12 et concernant lequel il a donné des règles dans I Corinthiens 14:1-40, est donné pour l’édification de soi (I Corinthiens 14:4) et pour l’édification de l’église (I Corinthiens 14:27-28).

Dans les réunions d’église, le don de langues est utilisé pour donner un message public, et il est censé être interpreté. Vu que ce don peut être mal employé en public, il nécessite des règlements appropriés (I Corinthiens 14:23-28). Pas tous les croyants exercent le don de langues, ce qui est différent des langues données par Dieu comme le signe initial du baptême du Saint Esprit.

Paul a dit, «N’empêchez pas de parler en langues» (I Corinthiens 14:39 et « Je rends grâces à Dieu de ce que je parle en langue plus que vous tous;» (I Corinthiens 14:18) Qui ose enseigner ou prêcher autrement?

Parler en langues signifie parler miraculeusement dans une langue inconnue au locuteur, selon que l’Esprit donne de s’exprimer. Les langues peuvent être classifiées dans deux manières, selon leur fonction: (1) parler en langues comme la première preuve du baptême du Saint Esprit et (2) le don des langues comme mentionné dans I Corinthiens.

À propos de la vie chrétienne

En tant que Chrétiens, on est censés aimer Dieu et les autres personnes. Nous devrions vivre une vie saine tant intérieurement qu’ extérieurement, et adorer Dieu avec joie. Les dons surnaturels du Saint Esprit, y compris la guérisson, sont pour l’église aujourd’hui. (Voir Marc 12:28-31; II Corinthiens 7:1; Hébreux 12:14; I Corinthiens 12:8-10)

LA SAINTÉTÉ

Après être sauvés de nos péchés, nous sommes commandés, «Va, et ne pèche plus» (Jean 8:11).

 

Dieu nous a ordonnés de vivre dans le siècle actuel selon la sagesse, la justice et la piété (Tite 2:12) et Il nous a avertis que sans la sanctification,  personne ne verra le Seigneur (Hébreux 12:14).

Nous devrons offrir notre corps comme un sacrifice saint à Dieu (Romains 12:1), nous purifier de toute souillure de la chair et de l’esprit (II Corinthiens 7:1), et nous séparer de toute mondanité (Jacques 4:4).

Et si le juste se sauve avec peine, que deviendront l’impie et le pécheur? (I Pierre 4:18).

Personne ne peut vivre une vie saine par sa propre force, mais uniquement à travers le Saint Esprit. «Mais vous recevrez une puissance, le Saint Esprit survenant sur vous» (Actes 1:8)

À propos du futur

Jésus-Christ reviendra pour prendre Son église. Ça va être la dernière résurrection et le dernier jugement. Les justes hériteront la vie éternelle, et les injustes la mort éternelle. (Voir I Thessaloniciens 4:16-17; Apocalypse 20:11-15.)

(LA SECONDE VENUE DE JÉSUS-CHRIST)

Jésus-Christ reviendra à la terre sous une forme corporelle, comme Il est parti (Actes 1:11). 

Il prendra un peuple saint (Sa mariée, Son église) qui a accepté le salut à travers Son sang, par la naissance de l’eau et de l’Esprit, et qui restera fidèle jusqu’à sa venue.

«Car le Seigneur lui-même, à un signal donné, à la voix d’un archange, et au son de la trompette de Dieu, descendra du ciel, et les morts en Christ ressusciteront premièrement. Ensuite, nous les vivants, qui serons restés, nous serons tous ensemble enlevés avec eux sur des nuées, à la rencontre du Seigneur dans les airs, et ainsi nous serons toujours avec le Seigneur» (1 Thessaloniciens 4:16-17).

«L‘une sera prise et l’autre laissée» (Luc 17:36). Seront-nous prêts ?

Les signes de Sa venue sont partout. Les jours de péril sont là effectivement, avec des formes de divinité vides de la puissance de Dieu; une société et des politiques corrumpues; et les coeurs des gens remplis d’orgueil, de blasphèmes, d’impiété, d’amour du mal, et d’amour du plaisir (II Timothie 3:1-13). Ces choses, conjointement avec les multitudes qui courent ici et là, l’augmentation de la connaissance (Daniel 12:4), la persécution des Juifs et leur retour en Palestine (Luc 21:24), et les multiples d’autres choses sont des signes précurseurs que la venue de Jésus-Christ s’approche. Des guerres, des bruits de guerres, des famines, des tremblements de terres, des orages, des inondations, des nations en détresse, la perplexité, et les hommes rendant l’âme de terreur sonnent l’alarme solennelle que la venue de Jésus est proche (Matthieu 24:6; Luc 21:25-28).

LA RÉSURRECTION

Il y aura une résurrection de tous les morts, des injustes et des justes.

 « Ne vous étonnez pas de cela; car l’heure vient où tous ceux qui sont dans les sépulcres entendront sa voix, et en sortiront. Ceux qui auront fait le bien ressusciteront pour la vie, mais ceux qui auront fait le mal ressusciteront pour le jugement» (Jean 5:28-29).

«Et je vis les morts, les grands et les petits, qui se tenaient devant le trône. … La mer rendit les morts qui étaient en elle, la mort et le séjour des morts rendirent les morts qui étaient en eux; » (Apocalypse 20:12-13) (Voir également Daniel 12:2; I Corinthiens 15: 13-23.)

LE JUGEMENT

«Et comme il est réservé aux hommes de mourir une seule fois, après quoi vient le jugement» (Hébreux 9:27). Pour cette raison, il y aura une résurrection pour tout le monde. « Car il nous faut tous comparaître devant le tribunal de Christ, afin que chacun reçoive selon le bien ou le mal qu’il aura fait, étant dans son corps» (II Corinthiens 5:10). Le destin éternel de chaque âme sera déterminée par un Dieu juste qui connaît les secrets de tous nos coeurs. « Toutes les nations seront assemblées devant lui. Il séparera les uns d’avec les autres, comme le berger sépare les brebis d’avec les boucs; et il mettra les brebis à sa droite, et les boucs à sa gauche. Alors le roi dira à ceux qui seront à sa droite: Venez, vous qui êtes bénis de mon Père; prenez possession du royaume qui vous a été préparé dès la fondation du monde…Ensuite il dira à ceux qui seront à sa gauche: Retirez-vous de moi, maudits; allez dans le feu éternel qui a été préparé pour le diable et pour ses anges… Et ceux-ci iront au châtiment éternel, mais les justes à la vie éternelle» (Matthieu 25:32-34, 41, 46).

 

 

À propos de l'Évangile

L’Évangile qui sauve est la bonne nouvelle que Jésus est mort pour nos péchés, a été enseveli et a réssucité. Nous obéissons l’Évangile (II Thessaloniciens 1:8; I Pierre 4:17) par la répentance (la mort au péché), le baptême d’eau au nom de Jésus-Christ (l’ensevelissement), et le baptême du Saint Esprit avec les signes initiaux de parler en langues comme l’Esprit donne de s’exprimer (la résurrection. (Voir I Corinthiens 15:1-4; Actes 2:4, 37-39; Romains 6:3-4;)

What we teach

About the bible

The Bible is the infallible Word of God and the ultimate authority for salvation and Christian living.  (See II Timothy 3:15-17.)

(The word infallible means “incapable of error.” If something is infallible, it is never wrong and thus absolutely trustworthy. Similarly, the word inerrant, also applied to Scripture, means “free from error.” Simply put, the Bible never fails.

 

The Bible claims to be infallible in 2 Peter 1:19, “We also have the prophetic message as something completely reliable.” Peter continues with a description of how Scripture came to be: “No prophecy of Scripture came about by the prophet’s own interpretation of things. For prophecy never had its origin in the human will, but prophets, though human, spoke from God as they were carried along by the Holy Spirit” (2 Peter 1:20–21).

 

Also, we see infallibility implied in 2 Timothy 3:16–17, “All Scripture is God-breathed” and has the effect of producing servants of God who are “thoroughly equipped for every good work.” The fact that God “breathed” Scripture insures that the Bible is infallible, for God cannot breathe out error. The fact that the Bible equips God’s servants “thoroughly” for service shows that it guides us into truth, not error.

 

If God is infallible, then so will be His Word. The doctrine of Scripture’s infallibility is based on an understanding of God’s perfection of character. God’s Word is “perfect, refreshing the soul” (Psalm 19:7) because God Himself is perfect. Theologically, God is His Word; His visible image, His body (Lord Jesus) is called “the Word made flesh” (John 1:1, 14).

 

It should be noted that the doctrine of infallibility concerns only the original documents. Mistranslations, printing errors, typos and add-ons are obvious human mistakes and are easily spotted, most of the time. However, what the biblical writers originally wrote was completely free from error or omission, as the Spirit superintended their task. God is truthful and perfectly reliable (John 14:6; 17:3), and so is His Word (John 17:17).

 

The Bible declares complete (as opposed to partial) perfection in Psalm 12:6, Psalm 19:7, Proverbs 30:5, and many other places. It is factual throughout and judges us (rather than vice-versa), “The word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart” (Hebrews 4:12).

 

The Bible is the sole objective source of all God has given us about Himself and His plan for humanity. As God’s infallible Word, the Bible is inerrant, authoritative, reliable, and sufficient to meet our needs.

About God

There is one God, who has revealed Himself as our Father, in His Son Jesus Christ as our redeemer, and as the Holy Spirit. Jesus Christ is God manifested in flesh. He is The Eternal Spirit wearing a body of sinless flesh. (See Deuteronomy 6:4; Ephesians 4:4-6; Colossians 2:9;  I Timothy 3:16.)

The Bible declares that The One ever-living, eternal God is: infinite power, Holy in nature, and possesses absolute, indivisible deity. This one true God has revealed Himself as Father in creation, as Son in redemption; and as the Holy Spirit in regeneration. (1 Cor. 8:6; Eph. 4:6; 2 Cor. 5:19; Joel 2:28).

 The Scripture does more than attempt to prove the existence of God; it asserts, assumes and declares that the knowledge of God is universal. (Romans 1:19, 21, 28, 32; 2:15). God is invisible, incorporeal, without parts, without body, and therefore free from all limitations. God is Spirit (John 4:24), and a spirit has not flesh and bones. (Luke 24:39).

 

The first of all the commandments is, hear, O Israel; the Lord our God is one Lord” (Mark 12:29; Deut. 6:4). “One God and Father of all, who is above all, and through all, and in you all” (Eph. 4:6).

This one true God manifested Himself in the Old Testament in divers ways, and in the New Testament as the Son while He walked among men; as the Holy Spirit after the ascension.

About Sin and Salvation

Everyone has sinned and needs salvation. Salvation comes by grace through faith based on the atoning sacrifice of Jesus Christ. (See Romans 3:23-25; 6:23; Ephesians 2:8-9.)

The New Testament experience of salvation consists of faith in Jesus Christ, repentance from sin, water baptism by immersion in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ for the remission of sins, and the baptism of the Holy Ghost, which enables the Christian is to live a godly life (See Acts 2:36-41).

 

(Sin is the transgression of the law, or commandments of God (I John 3:4). The guilt of sin has fallen upon all humanity from Adam until now (Romans 3:23). The wages of sin is eternal death (Romans 6:23; Revelation 20:14) to all those who refuse to accept salvation as set forth in the Word of God. We cannot cover up our sins by simply being good enough, because our goodness stinks in the nostrils of God (Isaiah 64:6). Salvation consists of deliverance from all sin and unrighteousness through the blood of Jesus Christ. The New Testament experience of salvation consists of faith in Jesus Christ, repentance from sin, water baptism by immersion in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ for the remission of sins, and the baptism of the Holy Ghost, which enables the Christian is to live a godly life (Acts 2:36-41).

1REPENTANCE

The Greek word is metanoeo, which literally means “to perceive afterwards” and hence signifies to change one’s, mind or purpose. In the New Testament, this word always indicates a change for the better.

  1. Basically, then, repentance is a change of mind, heart, and direction.
  2. Many Bible references affirm this. God chose Paul as a preacher to the Gentiles “to open their eyes, and to turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan unto God” (Acts 26:18). Paul fulfilled this by preaching that everyone “should repent and turn to God, and do works meet for repentance” (Acts 26:20). One of the fundamental doctrines of the church is “repentance from dead works” (Hebrews 6: 1).
  3. In the context of biblical preaching, then, repentance is a turn from sin and a turn to God.
  4. Most passages, however, use the word in a more restricted way to mean the first step away from sin and to God, prior to baptism of water and the gift of the Spirit (Acts 2:38).

In this sense, repentance is a radical transformation of mind, attitude, conviction and direction. It is a voluntary act of man in response to the call of God. It denotes an active turn, not just a feeling of regret or an apology. It is more than a moral resolution or reformation; it is a spiritual decision and a spiritual change.

  1. Before someone can repent from sin, he must first realize he is a sinner. Jesus said, ‘I came not to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance’ (Mark 2:17; Luke 5:32).
  2. All men have sinned, so Jesus actually came for the whole world. However, His statement points out that He will save only those who recognize their sins.
  3. Repentance can take place only when man recognizes his sins and acknowledges his need of God.
2WATER BATISM

Water baptism is to be administered by immersion. Paul said, “We are buried with him [Jesus Christ] by baptism (Romans 6:4; see Colossians 2:12), Jesus came up “out of the water” (Mark 1:10), and Philip and the eunuch went down “into the water” and came up “out of the water” (Acts 8:38-39).
Jesus’ death, burial, and resurrection are applied to our lives when we experience New Testament salvation: “Repent [death to sin], and be baptized [burial] every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of sins, and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost [resurrection].” (See Acts 2:38; Romans 6:1-7; 8:2).

3FORMULA FOR BAPTISM

Jesus’ last command to His disciples was, “Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost” (Matthew 28:19). We should notice that He said name (singular) not names.  Father, Son, and Holy Ghost are not names, but titles of positions held by God. An angelic announcement revealed God’s saving name in the New Testament: “She shall bring forth a son, and thou shalt call his name JESUS: for he shall save his people from their sins” (Matthew 1:21).

The apostles understood that Jesus was the name to use at baptism, and from the day that the church of God was established (the Day of Pentecost) until the end of their ministry, they baptized all nations (Jews–Acts 8:16; Gentiles–Acts 19:5) in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ.

In fact, Jesus is the only name given for our salvation. “Neither is there salvation in any other: for there is none other name under heaven given among men, whereby we must be saved” (Acts 4:12).

4BAPTISM OF THE HOLY GHOST

It was prophesied by Joel (Joel 2:28-29) and Isaiah (Isaiah 28:11), foretold by John the Baptist (Matthew 3:11), and promised by Jesus to His disciples (John 14:26; 15:16). The Holy Ghost was first poured out on the Day of Pentecost upon the Jews (Acts 2:1-4), then upon the Samaritans (Acts 8:17), and later upon the Gentiles (Acts 10:44-46; 19:6). “The promise is unto you, and to your children, and to all that are afar off, even as many as the Lord our God shall call” (Acts 2:39).

.

5TONGUES

Speaking in other tongues as the Spirit of God gives utterance is the manifestation God has given as the definite, indisputable, supernatural witness or sign of the baptism of the Holy Ghost (Acts 2:4; 10:46; 19:6).

It was prophesied by the prophet Isaiah as the rest and the refreshing (Isaiah 28:11-12), foretold by Jesus as a sign that would follow believers of the gospel (Mark 16:17), and experienced by Jews and Gentiles alike.

The gift of “divers kinds of tongues,” mentioned by Paul in I Corinthians 12:1-12 and concerning which he gave regulations in I Corinthians 14:1-40, is given by both for self-edification (I Corinthians 14:4) and for the edification of the church (I Corinthians 14:27-28).

In church meetings the gift of tongues is used to give a public message, and it is to be interpreted. Since this gift can be misused in public, it needs proper regulation (I Corinthians 14:23-28). Not all believers exercise the gift of tongues, which is different in function from tongues given by God as the initial sign of the baptism of the Holy Ghost.

Paul said, “Forbid not to speak with tongues” (I Corinthians 14:39) and “I thank my God, I speak with tongues more than ye all” (I Corinthians 14:18). Who dares to teach or preach to the contrary?

Speaking in tongues means speaking miraculously in a language unknown to the speaker, as the Spirit gives utterance. Tongues can be classified in two ways, according to function: (1) speaking in other tongues as the initial evidence of the baptism of the Holy Ghost and (2) the gift of tongues as mentioned in I Corinthians.

About Christian Living

As Christians we are to love God and others. We should live a holy life inwardly and outwardly, and worship God joyfully. The supernatural gifts of the Spirit, including healing, are for the church today. (See Mark 12:28-31; II Corinthians 7:1; Hebrews 12:14; I Corinthians 12:8-10.)

HOLINESS

After we are saved from sin, we are commanded, “Go, and sin no more” (John 8:11).

We are commanded to live soberly, righteously, and godly in this present world (Titus 2:12) and warned that without holiness no one shall see the Lord (Hebrews 12:14).

We must present ourselves as holy unto God (Romans 12:1), cleanse ourselves from all filthiness of the flesh and spirit (II Corinthians 7:1), and separate ourselves from all worldliness (James 4:4).

If the righteous scarcely be saved, where shall the ungodly and the sinner appear? (I Peter 4:18).

No one can live a holy life by his own power, but only through the Holy Spirit. “Ye shall receive power, after that the Holy Ghost is come upon you” (Acts 1:8).

About the Future

Jesus Christ is coming again to catch away His church. In the end will be the final resurrection and the final judgment. The righteous will inherit eternal life, and the unrighteous eternal death. (See I Thessalonians 4:16-17; Revelation 20:11-15.)

(SECOND COMING OF CHRIST)

Jesus Christ is coming back to earth in bodily form, just as He went away (Acts 1:11). He will catch away a holy people (His bride, His church) who have accepted redemption through His blood, by birth of water and of the Spirit, and who are found faithful when He comes.

“For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first: then we which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord” (I Thessalonians 4:16-17).

“One shall be taken and the other left” (Luke 17:36). Will we be ready?

The signs of His coming are everywhere. The days of peril are here indeed, with forms of godliness void of the power of God; society and politics corrupted; and people’s hearts filled with pride, blasphemies, unholiness, love of evil, and love of pleasures (II Timothy 3:1-13). These things, together with multitudes running to and fro, the increase of knowledge (Daniel 12:4), the persecution of the Jews and their return to Palestine (Luke 21:24), and scores of other things are warning signs that Jesus’ coming is drawing near.

Wars, rumors of wars, famines, earthquakes, storms, floods, distress of nations, perplexity, and people’s hearts failing them for fear are sounding the solemn alarm that Jesus’ coming is at hand (Matthew 24:6; Luke 21:25-28).

RESURRECTION

There will be a resurrection of all the dead, both just and unjust.

 

“Marvel not at this: for the hour is coming, in the which all that are in graves shall hear his voice, and shall come forth; they that have done good, unto the resurrection of life; and they that have done evil, unto the resurrection of damnation” (John 5:28-29).

“And I saw the dead, small and great, stand before God . . . and the sea gave up the dead which were in it; and death and hell delivered up the dead which were in them” (Revelation 20:12-13) (See also Daniel 12:2; I Corinthians 15:13-23.)

JUDGMENT

“It is appointed unto men once to die, but after this the judgment” (Hebrews 9:27). For this reason there will be a resurrection for everyone. “For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ; that every one may receive the things done in his body, according to that he hath done, whether it be good or bad” (II Corinthians 5:10).The eternal destiny of every soul shall be determined by a just God who knows the secrets of everyone’s heart. “And before him shall be gathered all nations: and he shall separate them one from another, as a shepherd divideth his sheep from the goats: and he shall set the sheep on his right hand, but the goats on the left. Then shall the King say unto them on his right hand, Come, ye blessed of my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. . . .Then shall he also say unto them on the left hand, Depart from me, ye cursed, into everlasting fire, prepared for the devil and his angels. . . . And these shall go away into everlasting punishment; but the righteous into life eternal” (Matthew 25:32-34, 41, 46).

 

About the Gospel

The saving gospel is the good news that Jesus died for our sins, was buried, and rose again. We obey the gospel (II Thessalonians 1:8; I Peter 4:17) by repentance (death to sin), water baptism in the name of Jesus Christ (burial), and the baptism of the Holy Spirit with the initial sign of speaking in tongues as the Spirit gives the utterance (resurrection). (See I Corinthians 15:1-4; Acts 2:4, 37-39; Romans 6:3-4.)